

experience the power of community

# **Annual Awards Nomination Form**

## STEP 1: I am submitting a nomination for the following award:

- Diversity Award
- ☐ Community Improvement Award
- Ambassador of the Year Award
- Volunteer of the Year Award
- Educator of the Year Award

- Entrepreneur of the Year Award
- □ Business of the Year Award (50 or less employees)
- □ Business of the Year Award (50+ employees)
  - Lifetime Achievement Award

\*if submitting more than one nomination, please complete separate forms

\*see page 2 for award classifications

## STEP 2: I am nominating the following business/individual:

Business / Organization:	
Phone:	Email:
Nominated by:	Business:
Phone:	Email:

## STEP 3: Supporting documents for nomination:

Please submit in writing your support of why you are nominating the individual/business for consideration (2-3 paragraphs of support). Documents can be attached to this nomination form highlighting their accomplishments, community involvement, key partnerships, previous awards or letters of recommendation.

Nomination Guidelines:

- All businesses/organizations must be a Forward Janesville member in good standing
- Nominations are for the calendar year accomplishments (January through December 2018)

Completed nomination forms should be returned by November 30th to:

## Forward Janesville Inc.

Attn: JoLynn Burden / Awards Nomination 14 South Jackson Street, Suite 200 Janesville, WI 53548 Fax: 608.757.3170 or EMAIL: jolynnb@forwardjanesville.com sponsored by:



experience the power of community

## **Annual Awards Nomination Form**

## **STEP 4:** Review Award Classifications:

**Diversity Award**— annually awarded to businesses or individuals who have shown exemplary contributions in implementing policies, procedures and/or programs that enhance diversity in the Janesville community.

**Community Improvement Award**—annually awarded to businesses or individuals who have demonstrated exemplary contributions to the well being of the Janesville community.

Goodwill Ambassador of the Year Award—annually awarded to an individual who has demonstrated exemplary representation of the business community. This individual has been a positive public relations liaison for Forward Janesville at ribbon cuttings, special events and networking sessions. The individual has also been involved through extra committee work and projects. The Ambassador of the Year is nominated by his or her peer Goodwill Ambassadors for the award.

Volunteer of the Year Award—annually awarded to an individual who has gone the extra mile in providing voluntary assistance to the Forward Janesville staff, committees, events and/or community projects.

Educator of the Year Award—awarded to an individual or group who has actively encouraged partnerships between the business and education communities. The nominee utilizes business resources within the community and works to adapt curriculum to align with the industry standards. Training, business partnerships and advocacy for the educational system are key roles that this individual undertakes.

Entrepreneur of the Year Award— annually awarded to an individual who has exemplified leadership and the entrepreneurial spirit in making their ideas, and ultimately their business a success. The nominee must be a majority owner and/or operation head of an independently owned profit-making business enterprise that has less than 50 employees.

Business of the Year Award (50 or less employees)—awarded to a business who recognizes that business success and community involvement go hand in hand. The award is to recognize the exemplary customer service, product knowledge, community support and professionalism that makes their business not only a profitable success, but a great asset to the Janesville community.

Business of the Year Award (50+ employees)—annually awarded to a business who recognizes that business success and community involvement are two vital components of a business strategy. The award is to recognize the exemplary customer service, product knowledge, community support and professionalism that makes their business a financial success, but also an asset to our local community.

Lifetime Achievement Award—annually honors an individual, who over the course of several years, has made a true difference in our community, and also the Janesville business community. Janesville is a better place because the honoree of the Lifetime Achievement Award has been active, engaged and involved in various initiatives that embrace the idea of community commitment...by combining resources, talents and assets, the honoree believes that together, we can overcome obstacles and continually improve our community.

## STEP 5: Review Previous Award Winners (2006 to 2017):

#### **Diversity Award**

Boys & Girls Club of Janesville; Jane Thompson, School District of Janesville, Janesville Academy of International Studies; Jose Carillo, School District of Janesville; The Aktion Club of Janesville; Santa Carfora, S&J Consulting and Robert Baldwin, Robert D. Baldwin, LLC; YWCA of Rock County; Janesville Presents!; Rock Aqua Jays; ECHO, Inc.; Riverfront, Inc., Community Action of Rock & Walworth Counties, Rock County, GIFT's Men's Shelter

#### **Community Improvement Award**

House of Mercy Homeless Center; The Armory; The Janesville Farmer's Market; Rotary Gardens; Janesville Community Health Center of MHS; HealthNet of Rock County; Christine Moore; Kutter Harley-Davidson; Janesville Jets; Culver's of Janesville; Agrace Hospice & Palliative Care, Rock County Historical Society, Bodacious Shops of Block 42/Studer Family, Janesville Police Department

#### Ambassador of the Year Award

Tom Paar; Kim Simmons; Lori Sperry; Jim McMullen; Robbi Seales; Teri Barnes; Dan Wilcox; Scott Hembrook; Jaysen Jorgensen; Lisa Hurda, Jessica Schafer, Jen DeGarmo, Denise Webb

FJI Volunteer of the Year Award: Vicki Schmuck; Jim McMullen; Steve Huth; Nick Fitzgerald; Mark Warren; Bill Boyd; Tony Farrell, Sr.; Experienced Business Advisors (EBA); Debbie Cook; Jim Purviance / Patty Reynolds - Westgate Corridor Volunteers, Oakleigh Ryan, Dave Marshick, Tammy McCaslin Krebs

#### Educator of the Year

Steve Huth; John Zimmerman, BTC Advanced Manufacturing Facility, UW Rock County, Mark Dwyer

### Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Craig DeGarmo; Richard Meier; Dr. Jim Damrow; Todd Duckworth; Brian Cherry; Jeff Hazekamp; Duke Kelly; Tony Huml; Joni Cullen & Lisa Saxer-Buros; Jason Yost, Tony Farrell, Drywater Productions, N1 Critical Technologies, Inc.

### Business of the Year Award (50 or less employees)

MacFarlane Pheasants, Inc.; Janesville Messenger; Boyd Consulting; OfficePro; Helgesen Development Corporation; Mac's Pizza Shack; Foremost Media, Inc.; K&W Greenery; Rinehart Targets; Pelsue Orthodontics, SASid, Batterman, E & D Water Works

### Business of the Year Award (50+ employees)

UAW Local 95 & General Motors; M&I Bank; Freedom Plastics; Rock Road Companies, Inc.; Bliss Communications; Janesville Sand & Gravel Co./LYCON; St. Mary's Jnsvl Hospital & Dean Clinic; Prent Corporation; Johnson Bank/Johnson Insurance; Blackhawk Community Credit Union, Data Dimensions, SSI Technologies, Chambers & Owen Lifetime Achievement Award

Alfred Diotte (Posthumously); Rowland McClellan; Roger Axtell; Ken Hendricks (Posthumously); Dr. Robert Yahr; Donald Hedberg; Ronald Ochs; Mark Cullen; Jackie Wood; Diane Hendricks, Joe Pregont, Jane Blain Gilbertson, David Cullen